• Free Shipping
  • 100% Refund
  • Limited Lifetime Warranty
  • Free Replacements
0
Shopping
Bag
$0
Select Your Currency
 
NEW ARRIVALS
BEST SELLERS

The Reproduction 1950 Dubrovnik Bobby Fischer Chess Set in Stained Crimson / Box Wood - 3.6" King

Price
Value
Quality
29 Review(s)

LOWEST PRICE GUARANTEE

HANDMADE PRODUCTS

FREE REPLACEMENTS

 
Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 29 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
My favorite chess set . . . 3.75 " Dubrovnik flat scarlet finish Review by antipodesman
Price
Value
Quality
Thanks Chess Bazaar. Amazing service and outstanding sale price on a set I wanted for a number of years. Definitely worth the wait. Fischer was right about this set. It is the nicest playing set.
(Posted on 10/25/2016)
Great as primary set Review by Drew
Value
Quality
Price
So,
I just wanted to add a strong recommendation for these as a primary set to play with, all historical connections aside.
They're pretty much like an ordinary tournament/club type set, though a bit heavier and a bit more bottom heavy... both good things.
It's hard to describe it, but they have a definite "toy" quality about them, in the best possible way. They seem like a really well made children's toy. I like this about them, as they're FUN, colorful, robust. Good for actual PLAY. (Posted on 10/9/2016)
Great chess set Review by Zlobnavila
Price
Value
Quality
One of the best chess sets ever. No wonder it was bobby fisher favorite. (Posted on 10/3/2016)
Excellent Quality Review by Hareesh
Quality
Price
Value
The color and Design of the pieces are nice. The shipment was quick and the package was secure. (Posted on 8/31/2016)
I love this set. [—And the color adds to the look of your room!] Review by ElAurens
Value
Quality
Price
I have had the House of Staunton Dubrovnik ebony and boxwood set for a year or two, and like it very much. But I also love red and white sets. So this was pure click-bait for me and the site arrived in just a few days and it is superb.
The pawns have a wider base than the House of Staunton, and this is very cool. Although the Knights and Rooks have a narrower base, it is still great.
Without being weighted heavy, it's great to play over lots of games from a book or magazine. You can make the moves really quickly with pieces that are not super heavy weighted..
I regard my 2" squares board as the minimum size for this set, and 2 1/8" or 2 1/4" squares would be better, for playing over lots of games. .
I also have the 2.0 version in the Sheesham/Boxwood, and really I do not notice the difference between the Knights. Of course, if you take a careful look, there is a difference, but when you are playing over lots of games from a book, you don't notice it.
Do not worry about "Dubrovnik Mania". If you like the Dubrovnik sets, you can certainly buy several.
I mean, I can stop any time I like. I am certain of it. (Posted on 8/31/2016)
Stunning Splash of Color! Review by Adaar
Price
Value
Quality
This is the 6th chess set I purchase from Chess Bazaar and I absolutely love this set. The crimson color is striking and the lack of religious adornment on the King is a nice touch considering the history. I also like the top of the bishops being the opposite color making them stand out. I highly recommend this set. (Posted on 8/29/2016)
A Great Set Review by Mike
Price
Value
Quality
This is the second one of this set I have purchased. A friend of mine was so impressed with the first , He purchased it from me. I had to get another..
(Posted on 8/17/2016)
A nice chess set. Thank you for the quick shipping. Review by Ozan
Quality
Price
Value
Thanks (Posted on 4/28/2015)
Stunning Review by Mark
Price
Value
Quality
This is a beautiful, heirloom set and a joy to play. Tremendous value at this price. Looking forward to doing business with Chess Bazaar again in the future. (Posted on 12/12/2014)
Really great set Review by Strngdrvnthng
Price
Value
Quality
Great set for playing OTB. Service from Chessbazaar was superb, as usual, as was the shipping. See my review of this set in Boxwood/Sheesham for additional comments. (Posted on 12/8/2014)

Items 1 to 10 of 29 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: The Reproduction 1950 Dubrovnik Bobby Fischer Chess Set in Stained Crimson / Box Wood - 3.6" King

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Price
Value
Quality
Back to Top

 -   +