• Free Shipping
  • 100% Refund
  • Limited Lifetime Warranty
  • Free Replacements
0
Shopping
Bag
$0
Select Your Currency
 
EXTRA 25% OFF ON ORDER BELOW $100*
Use Code: SPRING25 | T&C Apply*
EXTRA 40% OFF ON TOTAL ABOVE $100*
Use Code: SPRING40 | T&C Apply*
Clearance Sale | Up to 70% Off

The Old Collector's Club Staunton Series Chess Pieces in Ebony & Box wood - 4.4" King

Price
Value
Quality
8 Review(s)

LOWEST PRICE GUARANTEE

HANDMADE PRODUCTS

FREE REPLACEMENTS

 
Customer Reviews

8 Item(s)

per page
Beautiful, heavily weighted pieces and great support Review by Amitabh
Price
Value
Quality
The pieces are really very good and heavily weighted. When it arrived, i was blown away by its beauty. I am very happy. These pieces are really great!

Important point - When I received the pieces, small portion of 4 pieces were broken which was caused due to FedEx shipment. But Chessbazaar team were very supported about it and all the 4 pieces were replaced and they are really beautiful. Their replacement was very prompt.

I don't know any other chess store which provide better service then Chessbazaar. It is just awesome.

I recommend this heavily weighted pieces. Their service and support are great. They really care for their customers.

I will definite purchase more pieces and boards from Chessbazaar. (Posted on 2/25/2017)
Very pleased Review by Mr T
Quality
Price
Value
The pieces are very beautiful, yet sturdy. I could not be happier. Shipping, prices and communication is second to none. (Posted on 9/1/2016)
I love this set Review by Louis R.
Price
Value
Quality
This is a beautiful yet functional set. It is detailed, but not delicately ornate. My favorite feature is the stern, fierce Knights. I've only had a few issues which Chess Bazaar has happily resolved. I had a black Pawn that had a brown spot which was replaced, one of the Black Queens cracked which was replaced, and one of the White Queens has gotten marred on the base which I haven't done anything about yet (I'm sure that Chess Bazaar will happily replace). (Posted on 2/26/2016)
Price,overall usefulness Review by dasphoto
Price
Value
Quality
Hi! brought this set from a local retailer back in july 2015 and have used it about 2 dozen time so far. The overall look of the set is what you would see in much more costly sets in the luxury range.
The weight feels good in the hand and the bases are just right for boards in the 2.5 inch to 3 inch range. The finish for the Ebony pieces is near perfect and the Boxwood pieces compare with HOS and JOL sets in their finish. The price is right for anyone who wants a set with look and feel of a set in the $300.00 and up price range but at a much lower price. A great tournament set for the money.
(Posted on 2/15/2016)
Beautiful Big set. Bishops hats on the small size. Review by Jorge
Quality
Price
Value
This set is magnificent in size and craftsmanship. The only thing that doesn't make it flow in my opinion is the size of the bishops which tend to be on the small size. If the bishops from the D0177 were to be implemented into this set with an added increased mm adjustment to the height and base diameters of the bishops from the D0177 set, then this would be a perfect set with outstanding flow. (Posted on 8/27/2015)
Superb set and service Review by dgr1882
Price
Value
Quality
Bought this, my favourite Staunton of all the variations available, via ebay.

Like a number of reviewers I was even more impressed in the flesh, as it were, than even the excellent photos show. The value for money at the side of Jaques' sets is phenomenal.
I absolutely love the Knights - the greatest variable in Staunton type sets and the proportions of the rest of the pieces are excellent

Despite the careful packing, FedEx were a bit rough with the package and the result was broken prongs on the White Queens' coronets. Replacements were dispatched without delay and match beautifully.

Vik's communication was excellent. I can't wait to save up for another one for our school Chess Club!
Many thanks!
IB
Sheffield UK (Posted on 12/23/2014)
wonderful set Review by Hans
For those who love a big and heavily weighted set, this one is great! I'm a chess set collector, and this one is my favorite set to play with. The pieces feel great, and they fit perfectly in the chess box which I also bought here. (Posted on 12/4/2013)
Extra fast delivery and excellent value for money Review by Thomas
I ordered the chessmen on Sunday and received them on Wednesday morning in Germany. No customs hassle, everything fine and dandy.

As for the chessmen, they are well made, substantial and excellent value for money. There are some imperfections here and there (very small dents and a small discoloured point). But to be honest, I don't care about that. It's a hand-made product, not one made by a 3d-printer or whatever. The only thing I didn't like was the small residue of glue on the black king (between the cross and the top of the piece). Quality control could have been better at this point, because the glue can be easilly seen on the dark, shiny ebony.

But this is splitting hairs: I would buy this set again and, in fact, I will buy my next set and other equipment here. Shopping at Chessbazaar is as hassle-free and (almost) as fast as buying on amazon. Highly recommended! (Posted on 8/7/2013)

8 Item(s)

per page

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: The Old Collector's Club Staunton Series Chess Pieces in Ebony & Box wood - 4.4" King

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Price
Value
Quality
Back to Top

 -   +