• Free Shipping
  • 100% Refund
  • Limited Lifetime Warranty
  • Free Replacements
0
Shopping
Bag
$0
Select Your Currency
 
EXTRA 15% OFF STOREWIDE*
Use Code: FREEDOM15 
EXTRA 30% OFF ON ORDERS ABOVE $200*
Use Code: FREEDOM30 | Valid only on chess pieces & sets only*
Astonishing Antique Chess Sets

The Single Staunton Series Chess Pieces in Sheesham & Box Wood - 3.8" King

Price
Value
Quality
16 Review(s)

LOWEST PRICE GUARANTEE

HANDMADE PRODUCTS

FREE REPLACEMENTS

 
Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 16 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Perfect set for rough blitz games Review by Vamsi Mohan Krishna
Price
Value
Quality
I've purchased many fine sets from chessbazaar. However i wanted something that I could knock around and handle roughly. I considered the German Knight standard tournament set but I didn't like the Knight design. I knew it was the standard in all international tournaments but that design is just to plain and not appealing. So I considered the GM blitz edition which also was finely crafted and hence prone to getting ruined if handled roughly. Finally found this set which seems to be the "French Lardy" set on HOS site.

The overall weight of the set is 1044gm. All pics are double weighted and are heavy enough for stability but light enough for fast movements on the board. I also purchased the tournament box and it seems to serve the purpose just fine.

The bases of each pieces are perfectly flat and stable on the board. I paired this set with my 55mm flat Maple walnut chess board. The proportions are perfectly within the FIDE tournament specifications.

The King is 3.75 inch tall and has a 40mm base. So with a 55mm square it sits perfectly on the 21 inch board.

The finishing on the Knights is not as fine as my other sets but then again, finer finished pieces need to be babied otherwise they run the risk of chipping.

I use these pieces and the 55mm board on a daily basis for side analysis while using the 60mm rosewood board with 4.4 inch king for actually playing the games.

Fully satisfied with chess bazaar's service. Will keep buying more from here. (Posted on 1/9/2018)
A work of art Review by Karim
Price
Value
Quality
I just received today my Single Staunton chess set. I have to say the pieces are really a work of art and the chess set overall is solid and very well made, its a beauty to look at. (Posted on 7/18/2017)
Absolutely perfect! Review by Simon Smith
Quality
Price
Value
Like all the other chess stuff I bought at Chessbazaar's: outstanding quality, free shipment, and very friendly staff members! (Posted on 9/30/2016)
Quality chess pieces with King weighing 63 gms (2.22 Ounces) Review by Hardik
Quality
Price
Value
If you are just begining your journey with this centuries old game and looking for quality chess pieces , just GO FOR IT.

Ideal to play on 50 - 55 mm square. pieces are double weighted.

you can bank on chessbazzar team right from choosing ideal pieces for your board to final delivery and even after delivery for replacement in case of any manufacturing defect ( happens in very rare case).

Thanks,
Hardik (Posted on 9/21/2016)
NICE PIECE Review by KARLTEBS
Value
Quality
Price
Received it today and Im very satisfied. There some inconsistencies but still a very nice piece. This will not be the last purchase for sure.... (Posted on 2/26/2016)
Great quality for the price Review by RSK
Price
Value
Quality
Beautiful pieces. Really high quality. No comparison to the Chinese made pieces sold by many others for about the same price. It was well packed, although it did take three weeks to arrive. Would have like it sooner, but it was worth the wait. (Posted on 2/23/2016)
Thank you. Review by Shaya
Price
Value
Quality
BEAUTIFUL set.

Thank you. (Posted on 2/23/2016)
SKU: M0013Staunton Series 3.8 inch sheesham ,box wood Review by David
Price
Value
Quality
well chess Bazaar you did it again , the chess pieces arrived today in Dublin, they are very nice indeed, well crafted well weighted ,nice finish on all chessmen , color of the sheesham men are nice and each is the same tone , this is my second order from chessbazaar , outstanding quality on all levels,thanks David. (Posted on 11/28/2015)
moo13 chess pieces Review by David
Quality
Price
Value

well chess Bazaar you did it again , the chess pieces arrived today in Dublin, they are very nice indeed, well crafted well weighted ,nice finish on all chessmen , color of the sheesham men are nice and each is the same tone,this is my second order from chessbazaar , outstanding quality on all levels,thanks

Thanks a lot.

Dave (Posted on 11/27/2015)
Very Good Quality Pieces Review by Yuriy from San Francisco
Price
Value
Quality
I have to confirm what the other positive reviews of this set say. This set is relatively a "budget set". But it is so carefully crafted that you'd think it is hundreds of dollars. Each piece is perfectly carved to match another. They're covered in lacquer that seals any pores on the wood and makes it smooth to touch.

This set has significant weight added to each piece so it is very good for rapid blitz games. You don't have to worry about breaking a piece and the king is less likely to fall by accident.

The color and the wooden pattern on the pieces is worth mentioning. In addition to looking like candy, the black pieces have these natural wood lines that can be seen through the surface. They add a very beautiful effect to the whole set.

Basically I've not gotten a set of chess men from ChessBazaar that were not of the best quality. They're so good you just can't compare them to the other common chessmen made in Poland or China. I think it is because these are made by experienced men in India. They've been hand crafting chess for years.

(Posted on 9/29/2015)

Items 1 to 10 of 16 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: The Single Staunton Series Chess Pieces in Sheesham & Box Wood - 3.8" King

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Quality
Price
Value
Back to Top

 -   +